Tel: +8618926116206     E-mail:
About   Contact    |   Chinese English

Hanxin (guangdong) Communication Equipment Co., Ltd.



Twisted Pair Network Cable Types & Standards

According to the frequency and signal-to-noise ratio, the twisted pair network cable can be divided into Cat 3, Cat 4, Cat 5, Cat 5e, Cat 6, Cat 6a, Cat 7, Cat 7a and Cat 8 Ethernet/copper cables. Cat is standard for Category, all of them are applied for short distance transmission. The detailed specifications of twisted pair network cable types are listed in the below chart.

CategoryTypical ConstructionMax BandwidthTransmission SpeedsApplications
Cat 3UTP16 MHz10Mbps10BASE-T and 100BASE-T4 Ethernet
Cat 4UTP20 MHz16Mbps16Mbit/s Token Ring
Cat 5UTP100 MHz10-100Mbps100BASE-TX & 1000BASE-T Ethernet
Cat 5eUTP100 MHz1000Mbps-1Gbps100BASE-TX & 1000BASE-T Ethernet
Cat 6STP250 MHz10Gbps (55m)10GBASE-T Ethernet
Cat 6aSTP500 MHz10Gbps (55m)10GBASE-T Ethernet
Cat 7STP600 MHz100Gbps (15m)10GBASE-T Ethernet or POTS/CATV/1000BASE-T over single cable
Cat 7aSTP1000 MHz100Gbps (15m)10GBASE-T Ethernet or POTS/CATV/1000BASE-T over single cable
Cat 7aSTP2000 MHz4Gbps (30m)40GBASE-T Ethernet or POTS/CATV/1000BASE-T over single cable

T568A and T568B are two basic wiring standards that are used by twisted pair network cables. They are telecommunications standards from TIA and EIA that specify the pin arrangements for connectors (often RJ45) on UTP or STP network cables. The number 568 refers to the order in which wires within the twisted pair cables are terminated and attached to the connector. The only difference between T568A and T568B is that the orange and green pairs are interchanged (see the figure below).



Leave a Reply

Leave a message